Southern California APBA Baseball League
Team page links

          2023 League Champs:  Mission Viejo Trucks                                                                    2023 Manager of the year: ????                                                                   COO Rich (909) 621-2195

Team Owner  Dan V          Champions   1997

Record   39-45

Schedule  2022

Mar 1 Lizard Lickers 1-5
Mar 2 Bombers 3-3
Mar 3 Scrubs 2-4
Apr 1 BYE
Apr 2 Crush 2-4
May 1 Barracudas 4-2
May 2 Trucks 2-4
Jun 1 Storm
Jun 2 Pond Scum 3-3
Jul 1 Angels 3-3
Jul 2 Fire Frogs 4-2
Aug 1 tggers 3-3
Aug 2 Marlins
Sep 1 Firehouse
Sep 2 Sultans



Desert City
Sharks Baseball

Eastvale, California   


On Saturday the Desert City Sharks met up with the HB tggers for their 15th series since 2007. 
The Sharks have not played on September 17th since 2003. The Sharks split the series with the tggers to complete their season with a 39-45 record. The last time the Sharks finished with a 39-45 record was back in 2001. The Sharks still maintain a slight career advantage with a 46-44 record lifetime with the tggers. 
Salvador was named the Sharks Player of the Week by hitting .391 in the six games with 5 Home runs, 10 RBI and 7 runs scored. In Game #83 Salvador Perez slugged three home runs to pass Wily Adames for the team lead with 25 home runs. This was the 16th time in franchise history that a Shark has slugged three home runs in a single game and the second time that Salvador Perez has done it. Salvador Perez also slugged three home runs against the Apple Valley Dragons back in 2014. Salvador Perez now joins Robin Ventura, Sammy Sosa and Mike Trout as the only Sharks to homer three times in a single game, twice. 
Also in Game #83 Freddie Freeman and Salvador Perez hit back to back home runs in the 1st inning becoming the 128th duo to go back to back in Franchise History. Salvador Perez has now been involved in back to back home runs 14 times, joining Jay Bruce for the franchise lead. 
In Game #80 Evan Longoria slugged his third career grand slam in a losing effort and the 48th Grand Slam in franchise history. 
Also in Game #80, Jean Segura led the game off with a home run for his second lead off home run this season and for his career and the 58th career lead off home run by a Shark in franchise history. 
Now that the season is over, it is time for the presentation of the Dave Henderson and Gregg Hibbard Award. In the Sharks inaugural season of 1991, Dave Henderson was named the Team MVP and Gregg Hibbard was the Sharks Pitcher of the year, since then, the outstanding player and pitcher of the year for the Sharks, receives the Dave Henderson Award and the outstanding pitcher receives the Greg Hibbard award. 
For 2022 Freddie Freeman earned this honor for the third consecutive season and is now just one award behind from tying Sammy Sosa and Mike Trout for the franchise best, 4 Awards. 
Lucas Giolito was named the Greg Hibbard award for the first time in his career. Clayton Kershaw has won the Greg Hibbard for a franchise best 7 times. 
The Sharks Final Stat Sheet is attached..... See you Next Year!!! 


Today the Desert City Sharks and the Pedro Bombers got together for their 31st meeting since 1991 and split their series, three games to three. The Sharks now have an 86-100 lifetime against the Bombers and the Bombers are the first team to have 100 wins against the sharks. 

The Sharks now have a record of 20-28 through 8 series. This is the first time the Sharks have had a 20-28 record since 1993. 

Team Roster 2022

35 Name
Age Tm SCBL SP SAL St# C 1B 2B 3B SS OF Main
Sha Salvador Perez 31 KCR 84 S
63 9+6

Sha James McCann 31 NYM 63 S
63 7-0 2


Sha Freddie Freeman* 31 ATL 84



Sha Jean Segura 31 PHI 69 F

Sha Rougned Odor* 27 NYY 54 F

7 3


Sha Kris Bryant 29 SFG 75 F
3 6 2 7
Sha Evan Longoria 35 SFG 42



Sha Josh Donaldson 35 MIN 72 S



Sha Willy Adames 25 MIL 72 F

Sha Amed Rosario 25 CLE 75 F

8 2 6

Sha Mike Trout 29 LAA 18 F

3 7
Sha Tyler O'Neill 26 STL 72 F

3 7
Sha Andrew McCutchen 34 PHI 75


1 7
Sha Harold Ramirez 26 CLE 51


2 7
Sha Aristides Aquino 27 CIN 45
B 51

2 7


Sha Zack Wheeler 31 PHI 17 B X Z+ G

Sha Anthony DeSclafani 31 SFG 17 B Y Z


Sha Lucas Giolito 26 CHW 17 B- X


Sha Clayton Kershaw* 33 LAD 12 C X Z+ L


Sha Johnny Cueto 35 SFG 12 C


Sha Aaron Nola 28 PHI 17 C- X Z+ L


Sha Luke Jackson 29 ATL
A* X
G 39

Sha Craig Kimbrel 33 CHW

Sha Adam Cimber 30 TOR
Z+ V 44

Sha Devin Williams 26 MIL
A* K W G 33

Sha Hector Neris 32 PHI
B-* XY

Sha Matt Wisler 28 TBR

Sha Brad Hand* 31 NYM
C* Y



7 Reserves

Sha Corey Knebel 29 LAD

Sha Codi Heuer 24 CHC

Sha Jordan Hicks 24 STL

Sha Kyle Zimmer 29 KCR

Sha Chance Sisco* 26 NYM

Sha Orlando Arcia 26 ATL

Sha Jake Bauers* 25 SEA


2022 Desert City Sharks Pitching Rotation

Game 1 Game 2 Game 3 Game 4 Game 5 Game 6
Mar 1 Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Kershaw Cueto Wheeler LL   1-5

2 DeSclfani Giolito Kershaw Nola Wheeler DeSclfani
Scrubs 2-4

3 Giolito Kershaw Cueto Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Crush  2-4

Apr 4 Kershaw Cueto Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Nola Trucks  2-4

May 5 Cueto Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Kershaw Nola Barracudas 4-2

6 Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Nola Cueto Wheeler Pond Scum 3-3

June 7 DeSclfani Giolito Kershaw Cueto Wheeler DeSclfani Angels 3-3

8 Giolito Kershaw Cueto Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Bombers 3-3

July 9 Kershaw Cueto Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Nola Fire Frogs 4-2

10 Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Kershaw Cueto Wheeler

Aug 11 DeSclfani Giolito Nola Cueto Wheeler DeSclfani

12 Giolito Kershaw Nola Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito

Sept 13 Kershaw Cueto Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Nola

14 Wheeler DeSclfani Giolito Kershaw Cueto Nola


Zack Wheeler 17 ~ Anthony DeSclfani 17 ~ Lucas Giolito 17 ~ Clayton Kershaaw 12 ~ Johnny Cueto 12 ~ Aaron Nola 9


April 20th
Tonight the Desert City Sharks traveled, to the city of Orange, to take on the La Habra Angels. This was the 21st meeting between the Sharks and Angels since 2006. The Sharks and Angels split their series three games to three.  
The Sharks are now 17-25 at the half way point. This isn't the worst record the Sharks have had in their 32 year history, but the first time they have been 17-25 since 2003.  
Hopefully the Sharks will be back in action again soon!!!       

April 15th
For only the second time in Franchise history and the first since 2015 the Sharks played a series on Jackie Robinson Day.

The Desert City Sharks traveled to Fountain Valley to take on the Pond Scum for their 9th meeting since 2013 and split their series three games to three. 

The Sharks improve to 14-22 which is their second worst start in their 32 year history and the first time they have been 14-22 since 2000. 

The Sharks did slug 12 home runs in the series including a lead off home run by Jean Segura in Game #32 which was the 55th lead off home run in franchise history and the first of Jean Segura's career. That was the first time that the Sharks have led off a game against the Pond Scum with a home run. 

In game #36, the Sharks hit back to back home runs twice, once in the 3rd inning by Wily Adames and Aristidis Aquino and again in the 4th inning by Tyler O'Neill and Wily Adames. That was the 124th and 125th time the Sharks have gone back to back in franchise history. The last time the Sharks hit back to back home runs against the Pond Scum was in 2013 when Salvador Perez and JJ Hardy did it. 

March  31st
Today the 7-17 Sharks traveled to Long Beach to take on the 4-8 Barracudas. This was the 26th meeting between these two franchises since 1996 with the Sharks enjoying a slight 76-74 edge.
The Sharks beat the Barracudas 4 games to 2. The Sharks actually got a little bit of pitching for the first time this year.
Wily Adames did end his hitting streak at 14 games, however Kris Bryant extended his hitting streak to 12 games. 
The Sharks are now 11-19, for the first time since 2011.